Goa , 18 Oct 2019

Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team announces Squad for Dakar Rally 2020

  • India's ace rider Harith Noah, to make his Dakar Rally debut
  • Johnny Aubert to represent Sherco TVS Rally Factory team for the first time in Dakar Rally

Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team, today announced its four-rider squad for Dakar Rally 2020 scheduled to take place between January 5th and 17th, 2020 in Saudi Arabia, at TVS MotoSoul 2019, Goa. The team includes seasoned racer Michael Metge (France), Enduro Champion Lorenzo Santolino (Spain), and Johnny Aubert (France), and India’s ace rider Harith Noah who is set to make his debut at the Dakar Rally. The Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team, has had an impressive year with strong performances at all international events in 2019 including Merzouga Rally, Desert Storm, Baja Aragon, and aims for a strong finish at Dakar 2020.

Dakar 2020 is the 42nd edition of the annual international Rally-Raid which will be taking place in the dunes of Saudi Arabia. It will be a journey through unknown landscapes, unexpected challenges, untold stories and unbelievable memories, commencing at Jeddah passing through Riyadh and culminating at Al Qiddiya. This is Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team’s sixth consecutive year of participation in the Rally.

Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team, lead rider Michael Metge is gearing for his seventh outing at this gruelling Rally this year, and Lorenzo Santolino will make his second appearance at Dakar Rally. The team also welcomes Johnny Aubert, who finished sixth in Dakar 2018 bringing with him 35 years of racing experience. The fourth rider, Harith Noah is one of the brightest talent from India and has shown tremendous performance in the international rallies.

Indian rider and Dakar 2019 finisher Aravind KP, who has been part of the TVS Racing team since 2006, sustained a leg injury during his practice session earlier in the year due to which he will not be participating in Dakar Rally 2020. KP successfully completed the 2019 edition of Dakar making him the only Indian to finish the gruesome rally at 37th position.

About Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team

In 2015, TVS Racing became the first Indian factory team to take part in the Dakar Rally by forging a partnership with Sherco. Both the teams connect over their passion for bikes and since then has emerged as a global brand in motorsports. Together they provide international quality training to racers and technicians and their expertise on racing technology has made them unstoppable. Throughout the year, the team participates in Rallies like Rally of Morocco, PanAfrica Rally, Baja Aragon, Merzouga Rally, and Dakar Rally. The team recently won Baja Aragon Rally 2019 held in Spain.

About TVS Racing

Since the past 37 years TVS Racing has been actively participating on and off-road racing events such as road racing, Super-cross and Motocross, Dirt Tracks, Rally etc. TVS Racing is the only factory team in India to have any woman racer as a part of their team. In early 2015, TVS Racing became the first Indian factory team to take part in the Dakar Rally, which is the longest and toughest Rally in the world. TVS Racing won 15 championships across all forms of two-wheeler motorsport events Supercross, Rallies and Road racing last year.

For further information, please contact:
Nikita Verma / Piyush Darwade
nikita.verma@tvsmotor.com / Piyush.darwade@tvsmotor.com