Panjim , 08 May 2005

TVS Racing sweeps MRF National Supercross Rnd 1, Goa

TVS Racing team dominated the first round of the MRF National Supercross Championship by winning Five of the Six Championship classes of the races held in Panjim's Campal Parade Ground, today. Ace rider and the reigning champion C Vijaykumar of TVS Racing proved his class in the presence of a huge Sunday morning crowd by dominating both the Motos of the prestigious 'Foreign Open class'. He came first in both the Motos taking his point tally to 40 and also earned 'The Best Rider of the Day' title.

The day began with the First moto of the Indian Experts Foreign Motorcycle where C Vijaykumar of  TVS Racing managed to take an early lead, which he maintained and consolidated till the end. Yogesh Barguje of Yamaha Racing and C. S Santosh of TVS Racing who came 2nd and 3rd respectively battled it out as the latter almost edged out the former in the final bend. The second moto of the race saw a repeat performance with C Vijaykumar emerging clear winner followed by Barguje and Santosh who took the 2nd and 3rd spot.

In the stock class of vehicles or in other words motorcycles without any modification; C. D Jinan of TVS Racing proved his class by taking honours in the Indian Experts Group D 80 CC to 110 CC in his TVS Victor. TVS Racing dominated this class with all the three podium positions going to the team. Jinan also took the honours in the Indian Experts Group D 125 CC to 160 CC in his TVS Fiero F2.

The group B Indian Experts upto 150 CC 2-Stroke saw a four-way battle between Syed Eathasham, Yogesh Barguje, C. Vijaykumar and C. Santosh. Though Santosh looked very promising he fell back to the 4th position in a tangle between the riders. In the end Syed Eathasham managed to emerge 1st. Yogesh and Vijaykumar took the 2nd and 3rd spot respectively. This was the only class where Yamaha managed to take the top spot.

In the Novice class upto 150 cc; Syed Zubbair of TVS Racing in his Shogun fought it out to win the first spot. He was closely followed by Yamaha's Joshua Pramod and S. Arun of TVS Racing.

The local class saw some interesting fight between Gordon Furtado and Mohmad Kadar with the latter taking lead till the penultimate lap. Kadar's bike hit a technical snag and gave way for Gordon. Imtiaz Kadar came a distant second followed by Fidle Furtado who took the third spot.