Chennai , 20 Aug 2006

TVS Racing takes honours at round 2 of the 2006 MRF National Supercross, Chennai

C. Vijay Kumar of TVS Racing takes honours at round 2 of the 2006 MRF National Supercross, Chennai
Vijay Kumar of TVS Racing adjudged best rider of the day

3 times national champion C. Vijaykumar of TVS Racing emerged victorious in the first moto and came third in the second moto of the prestigious foreign open class thereby earning maximum points and being adjudged as the ‘Best Rider of the Day’ at the second round of the 2006 season of the MRF National Supercross held in Chennai at the C. Kandaswamy College for Men, Annanagar Chennai in the presence of over a 6,000 strong crowd.

Vijaykumar on his TVS 250X earned a total of 35 points after he emerged victorious in the first moto and third in the second moto of the prestigious foreign open class. Both the motos were hard fought with the top three riders displaying amazing skill and endurance in a highly demanding track. In the first moto, Vijaykumar gained the initial lead but T. K. Viswanath on his YZ 250F was hot on his heels. Vijay though, held on splendidly to his lead, before a fall forced T. K. Viswanath to lose considerable ground. In the midst of this one saw the heroic efforts of C. S. Santosh who had a fall but came back strongly to challenge T. K. Viswanath. Riding at breakneck speed, Santosh tried his level best to wrest the second position but was thwarted by an equally determined Viswanath. The fight for second place was a hotly contested one with Viwanath coming in second and Santosh coming in third.

The second moto saw T. K. Viswanath take the lead at the first bend and hold on to it for a couple of laps before a disastrous fall deprived him of his lead. The young prodigy from Team TVS, Karan Kadam seized this opportunity and roared into the lead sending the crowds into raptures at his sheer skill and daredevil riding. Soon, Karan stamped his authority on the race and established a huge lead. There was a tussle for the second place between Vijay and Santosh. Santosh however had the measure of Vijay in this race and built a steady gap ensuring he came in a comfortable second. Vijay Kumar tried his best but he could not close the gap, and came in third behind Karan and Santosh.

The group B Indian Experts upto 150 CC 2-Stroke saw a clear winner in C. Vijaykumar of TVS Racing on his TVS Shaolin. He built up a huge lead and ensured a comfortable win. Behind him were C. D. Jinan on the TVS Shaolin and Syed Zubbair also on a TVS Shaolin who came in second and third respectively.

In the stock class of vehicles or in other words motorcycles without any modification; C. D Jinan of TVS Racing proved his class once again by taking honours in the Indian Experts Group D 80 CC to 110 CC on his TVS Victor. It must be said that Jinan showed remarkable aggression and a burning desire to win as he hurled himself and his machine into corners increasing his lead over his rivals with every round.

In the Indian Experts Group D 125 CC to 160 CC class it was C. D. Jinan once again this on his TVS Fiero who raced ahead of the others to cap the top spot. TVS Racing dominated both these races with all the three podium positions going to the team.

In the Novice class upto 150 cc; Pramod Joshua of TVS Racing in his Shogun, dominated to win in commanding style. The local class saw some interesting fight between various talented and upcoming riders. But it was E. Clarke on his TVS Fiero who led the pack with an easy lead. C. Anandkumar and P. Ramesh Kumar came 2nd and 3rd respectively.

In the Intermediate class of foreign open for privateers T. K. Viswanath dominated and won with ease. The only serious threat to him was Eeshan Lokhande who did well too coming in second.